Top KPIs to track during and post COVID-19

Twelve months into the crisis, although countries are in a race of  securing vaccines to bounce their economies back to its normal state, we still find ourselves in a period of uncertainty and volatility.

For most businesses, accelerating digital transformation to support sales and customer service is a must. It also means that businesses have to recalibrate their key performance indicators (KPIs) to assess and qualify a successful digital change.

How will businesses measure the success of their actions? What KPIs should they track if customers are transitioning to their digital platform? Does customers use it to its fullest capacity? Did customers managed to complete all the actions needed to complete a transaction?

To prevent paralysis by analysis, here are some of the KPIs businesses have to consider when measuring the success of digital transformation.

Mobile app registration rates

key performance indicators online marketing - mobile app registration rates

Mobile app registration rates or app install-to-register conversion rates is one of the important KPIs to track whether customers are adopting to your digital platform.



It is simply the percentage of users who register successfully with your app over the number of users who install or downloaded the mobile app.

Calculation: total registrations / total installs or downloads.

What is a good benchmark?

According to statista.com, the typical app install-to-register conversion rates in SEA is at 43% in 2019. However, this number varies depending on the industry and sometimes by user profiles.

Finding the benchmark to measure what is a successful app registration rate might be complex, however you can always start from scratch. The key is you should always experiment and optimize your app registrations steps to maximize conversion rates.

Ask yourself the following questions to guide your optimization process. E.g., is your app free for download? What information is required to register? Email, phone number, date of birth etc.,? How many steps are required to register? Just a tip, the more steps and the more personal information you require, the lower the registration rate be.

Please do note that other organization have different ways in calculating mobile app registration rate. E.g.,  number of installs/downloads over number of visitors.

Average daily active users 

key performance indicators online marketing - daily active users

This KPI suggest sales growth and a proof of a healthy app/website as it indicates customers stickiness to your business.

Calculation:  Total number of users for a given day.

What is a good benchmark?

It varies per industries or products, however messaging apps, music apps, video streaming apps have high DAU while some apps like banking or finance apps may have lower DAU due to users only use these apps a few times a week.

Businesses must understand that in some cases, a steady upward trend of daily active users (DAU) is a certain promise of revenue due to high user stickiness.

Customer retention rates

key performance indicators online marketing - retention rates

This KPI focuses on loyalty. It measures the number of customers that continuously do business with you.  Customer retention rates is expressed as the percentage of existing customers at the end of a given period (week, month or quarter).

Sample calculation: ((120 end of the month – 50 acquired)  / 100 customers at the beginning of the month) * 100 = 70% CRR.

Example, if you had 100 customers at the beginning of the month and ended with 120 and having won 50 new customers over the span of one month, your customer retention rate would be 70%.

What is a good benchmark?

According to MIXpanel’s 2017 product benchmark report, for most industries, it sits below 20%.

If you want to start tracking your customer retention rate, the first thing you need to do is identify the period of time you want to measure. For some businesses they evaluate it by annual, quarterly, monthly or even weekly especially for retail business.

Average revenue per user/customer

key performance indicators online marketing - revenue per user

This is the measurement of revenue/sales generated per customer. This KPI is complementary with cross selling as it determines the revenue growth capability at per-customer level.

Calculation: Total revenue / number of users/customers

What is a good ARPU?

There is no optimal value but if you are aiming to achieve $10K in monthly sales and an ARPU of $100 then you have to generate 100 customers. These 100 customers must spend at least $100 in any single purchase or cross-selling transactions.

Another use case for this KPI is it helps to identify if you are targeting the right customers, plus gives you an insight if your product pricing is right.

Cost per acquisition

key performance indicators online marketing - cost per acquisition

This KPI is considered as one of the most important KPI marketers should continuously optimize in the period of covid-19. Reduced budgets is expected during this period but digital marketers are expected to do more to sustain the business.

Calculation: Total marketing cost / number of customers acquired from a campaign

What is a good benchmark?

According to Wordstream, CPA in Adwords (search) is $48 across industries with Real Estate and B2B having the most expensive CPA at $116 while Auto industry having the lowest at $33.

What should marketers do to reduce CPA? Some strategies are running A/B test of ad copies or landing pages, use retargeting techniques, improve quality score on keywords or ads or optimize ecommerce buying process to increase conversion rates.

NPS scores

key performance indicators online marketing - NPS score

Stands for Net Promoter Score, a KPI used to measure customer experience in mobile apps, portal or websites. It measures customer perception based on one simple question:

“How likely are you to recommend our products or services to a friend?”

Customer will have to respond in the scale between 0 (not likely) and 10 (extremely likely).  After providing the score, customer response will fall into one of the three categories to established the NPS score.

Score between 9 or 10 are Promoters. (enthusiastic, loyal customers who most likely bring in new customers to your business)

Score between 7 or 8 are Passives. (satisfied customers but does not mean they are loyal to your brand and has the propensity to switch with competitors anytime)

Score between 0 or 6 are Detractors. (unhappy customers who had bad experience on your brand and might share their experiences to other people)

Calculation: % of Promoters – % of Detractors

To get your final NPS score, just substract the percentage of Detractors from percentage of Promoters. Example, if 20% of respondents are Detractors, 20% are Passives and 60% are Promoters, your final NPS score will be 60 – 20 = 40.

What is a good NPS score?

Any score above 0 is considered good, however according to Bain & Co, the source of NPS system, any score above 50 is excellent while above 80 is world class.

There are a number of reasons why you might get a low NPS score e.g., tech issues in your app or website, poor customer service, bad user experience or pricing etc.,

Cross-selling rates/ratio

key performance indicators online marketing - cross selling rate

Cross-sell simply means to sell related or complementary products to an existing customer. E.g., for an online retail, pairing a trail running shoes with a comfortable running socks increases the probability of more profit from the same customer.

There are different ways to measure cross-selling rate but for some companies, it’s just the number of products sold divided by the number of customers.

One great use case of this marketing tactic is Amazon’s “frequently bought together” or “customer who bought this item also bought”. Suggestions are extremely effective and can generate a substantial percent of revenue.